Division of endocrinology

DSC - Board of Directors


The Diabetes Initiative of South Carolina
Board of Directors:
- annually assesses the effects of diabetes mellitus in South Carolina, and the status of education, clinical research and translation of new diabetes treatment methods in South Carolina
- oversees all operations of the Diabetes Center of Excellence Advisory Committees, Outreach Council and Surveillance Council
- makes annual budget requests to the General Assembly to support the activities of the Diabetes Initiative of South Carolina Board

Useful Links:

SC Code of Laws for the DSC

Diabetes Initiative of South Carolina Bylaws

SC Guidelines for DM Care  (Adopted 12/03/11; Updated 2012; Updated 2013; Updated 2015; Updated 2016)

SC Guidelines for DM Care in the Hospital (Adopted 3/6/15; Updated 2016)

Scheduled DSC Board Meetings
9:30 am - 11:00 am Outreach Council
11:00 am - 12:30 pm Surveillance Council
2:00 pm - 4:00 pm Board of Directors

Date of Meeting


Directions to MUSC, Charleston
Directions to USC, Columbia

June 3, 2016

Outreach Council Handouts

Surveillance Council Handouts

Board of Directors Handouts

15 Medical Park, Suite 300
3555 Harden Street Ext, Columbia, SC 29203
December 2, 2016MUSC
96 Jonathan Lucas Street, 816 Conference Room
Charleston, SC  29425



DSC Board Members

Member (click on a member's name to send an email)


Kathie L. Hermayer, MD

Board Chair, Diabetes Initiative of SC
Medical University of South Carolina

Bryan Amick, PharmD, MS, MBA
Bureau Director
SC Department of Health and Human Services

Pamela C. Arnold, MSN, APRN, BC-ADM, CDE

Chair, Diabetes Center of Excellence Council
Clinical Director, MUSC Diabetes Center

Jacqlyn Atkins, MPH, CHES

Director, Office of Minority Health

John Bruch, MD

Greenville Hospital System

Brent Egan, MD

Hypertension Initiative of SC
Medical University of South Carolina

Leonard Egede, MD, MS

Endowed Chair, Allen Johnson for General Internal Medicine and Geriatrics
Medical University of South Carolina

Elizabeth Todd Heckel, MSW, CDE

Chair, Outreach Council
Universidy of South Carolina College of Medicine

Rhonda Hill, PhD, CHES

SC DHEC - Health Services

Carolyn Jenkins, DrPH, APRN, RD, CDE, FAAN

MUSC College of Nursing
American Association of Diabetes Educators

Soonho Kwon, MD

Interim Chair, Division of Endocrinology
Medical University of South Carolina

Usah Lilavivat, MD

Internal Medicine, Carolina Diabetes & Kidney Center
Sumter Medical Specialists

Ronald Mayfield, MD

Endocrinology - Spartanburg

Edi McNinch, RN, CDE

Certified Diabetes Educator - Laurens, SC

Bryce Nelson, MD, PhD

SC Medical Association
University Medical Group, Greenville Hospital System

Karen Reeves, BSN, MHHA, FACHE

Vice President, Quality & Patient Safety
SC Hospital Association

Albert Henry "Hal" Peters, IV
SC Governor's Office

Ali Rizvi, MD

SC Medical Association

Hobart Trotter, Jr.

ADA - Southeast Division


Advisory Members

Yaw Boateng, MS, MPH, RD, LD, CDE

Registered/Licensed Dietitian

David Garr, MD


Sharon Eubanks, MBA, BSN, RN

Care Improvement Specialist
The Carolinas Center for Medical Excellence

Stephen P. Williams

Attorney at Law



Ex-Officio Members
Member Representing

Edwin Bransome, MD

Internal Medicine/ Endocrinology

David J. Cole, MDPresident, Medical University of South Carolina

John A. Colwell, MD, PhD             

Past President, Diabetes Initiative of South Carolina
Professor Emeritus

James Edwards, DMD

Past President
Medical University of South Carolina

David Keisler, MD

Past DSC Board Vice Chair

Daniel Lackland, DrPH

Past Chair, DSC Board of Directors
Past Chair, Surveillance Council
MUSC Dept. of Neurosciences

Ed Owens

Southeastern Division
American Diabetes Association

Stephen H.Smith

Past Board Chair
American Diabetes Association

Mark S. Sothmann, PhDInterim President, Academic Affairs & Provost
Medical University of South Carolina













© Medical University of South Carolina | 171 Ashley Avenue, Charleston, SC 29425